Express the Experience

  • 06:21:12 pm on April 19, 2011 | 1
    Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

    Spanish lessons in the dining hall, per the kids' requests!

    Last Friday I had the most amazing day at work. I got to lead ‘special time’ at Faith Roots International (the City of Refuge school). I chose to teach the kids some Spanish by translating anything they wanted to ask me. It was supposed to be something very informal, but the kids were so enthused they asked me to write the terms on the board for them. By then we had already packed up for the day since ‘special time’ is their free period before heading home, so the kids scrambled to set up the large whiteboard for me to write, and raced around the schoolhouse in search of paper and pens to take notes with. They were so excited that they even began arguing amongst themselves because they couldn’t decide whether they wanted to learn the names of fruits or of animals that afternoon.

    The story gets even better. So after ‘special time’ ended (it’s only 30 minutes long), the kids didn’t want to leave the schoolhouse –they still wanted to learn Spanish! I promised them we would continue lessons this week, but that wasn’t enough. They wanted to continue the lessons at the Freedom Center after lunch. You can’t imagine how surprised I was to see them hunt down and set up the spare whiteboard in the dining room. Some of the younger children even skipped their nap time to take part in the lessons. I’ve never seen kids so eager to learn before! It made me incredibly happy to see them excited and learning. I’m glad I was able to bring something new into their lives. After all, Spanish, my native language, isn’t heard often in Ghana, much less in the rural communities from where the children are from.

    Playing "choo choo train" with the babies!

    In addition to Spanish lessons, we also played hangman. The kids had never played before, so you can imagine how excited they were to guess letters and see words begin to form. They even began helping one another, so that the ones better at reading were coaxing the kids that were a little behind. I can’t wait to play hangman again with them. I’m sure they don’t realize how much English and spelling they’re learning when they play it!

    All in all, it was a fun day at City of Refuge for everyone. Seeing the kids excited and learning has me thinking a lot about what I want to do when I “grow up” and how much I love teaching. Who knows, perhaps my time with City of Refuge will point the way towards what I should do.

    That reminds me, I just heard from Autumn that the kids have been practicing their Spanish all week. Isn’t that amazing! If I had known they’d love language lessons this much, I would’ve started them a long time ago. Just check out the joy in their faces in the pictures Nikki took. I can’t wait to see them this Friday.

    Oh, PS– that’s baby Edwin tied onto my back in the picture. I didn’t want to leave him out of all the fun, haha!

     

Comments

  • Pastor Jeff 9:14 pm on April 19, 2011 | # | Reply

    Oh how I miss and love you all! It is amazing how after just ten days you made such an impact on my life. Just seeing that familiar table full of kids makes my heart long for Ghana! Keep up the great work with the Spanish kids and know that I think of you often!


Leave a Reply

